Using Airtable to stay on top of everything

Kovid Bhaduri
2 min readMar 7, 2021

--

(This post is part of a larger month-long project to write and sell a book. Check out this landing page to learn more!)

I really like Airtable. It’s one of the few project management software which gives me the perfect medium between simple, but unattractive spreadsheets; And complicated, but powerful databases.

Airtable can become so easy that anyone could spin up a database in a matter of mere minutes. Yet, it offers tremendous functionality for people who really want to get into it. For veteran users, Airtable doesn’t just store data, it stores relationships between data, with the effect that large-scale automation and collaboration becomes much easier than ever before.

( If you’d like to explore interlinkability a little further, might I suggest my project for The Athletic?)

For this month’s project, however, I stick to a simpler database. My airtable has two data sets. One for the month-long project management, and the other for the week’s tasks.

I study my long-term goals on my monthly planner, and update my weekly planner as and when I complete my day-to-day tasks. The weekly data set is further organized into a kanban view for easier drag and drop functionality of my tasks, organized by the status of the task right now.

In the main grid view, each task is organized by deadline, type, and status, as well as provides space for notes for anything I might miss out on.

This airtable is not super detailed, but it’s just right to help me keep track of everything in this rather hectic month.

--

--